Nigel’s Return from Year of Mercy Pilgrimage

Nigel, walk Santiago

Nigel returns from Santigao de Compostela

Nigel’s back!  He’s safely returned to us from his recent 142km pilgrimage on the Way of St James to Santiago de Compostela and he carried our Lampedusa Cross with him every step of the way! He told us,

“I arrived on the Tuesday evening to find the hostel I’d booked wasn’t anywhere near La Coruña [where I was due to start my pilgrimage]. The only hostel in town was a homeless shelter but it was very nice, clean and modern; every person there was very kind and welcoming to me. A very humbling experience!

Nigel Myall's walk to Santiago de Compostela

Just like the film.

“On Wednesday, I set off early to Ferrol, the start point of the Camino Inglés.  I collected my ‘credencial’ from the cathedral and went to Mass. After the first few miles, the weather closed in: don’t always expect sunshine in Galicia!

“Three days later at the midway point near Betanzos, the weather improved greatly. I then had the problem of finding enough water: my tip, always ask the locals if the spring water is drinkable.”

On Monday, Nigel completed the pilgrimage; when pilgrims arrive at Santiago, they can take their pilgrim record and dedicate it to someone who has motivated them on the pilgrimage. Nigel wanted to dedicate his pilgrimage to the “unknown refugee”, but instead dedicated it to Alan Kurdi, the three-year-old Syrian boy who drowned off the Mediterranean coast last year.

Nigel said,

“I have no certificate to show for my pilgrimage, but I gained more than I could ever have hoped for in grace. I have now raised £625 for CAFOD’s Refugee Crisis Appeal (including Gift Aid).”

 

nigels-certificate-santiago-de-compostella-sept-2016

Nigel’s pilgrim’s record dedicated to Alan Kurdi

If you would like to add to Nigel’s fundraising total – there’s still time.  Please find his justgiving page here.

Thank you so much for sending us these lovely photos Nigel and for sharing your experiences with us along the way.   You’re inspirational!

Find out more about CAFOD’s Refugee Crisis Appeal.

Send a message of hope to refugees today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

