Laura’s leaving…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A sad day today for everyone in our CAFOD family as we say a very fond farewell to our fantastic colleague and friend Laura!   As we all know and can clearly see from all your cards and many good wishes – she is much loved and will be hugely missed.  What a time we’ve had over the last seven years!   Here are just a few of the memories!  There’s no doubt we will have a Laura sized hole here in Aldershot – but she has promised to stay on as a volunteer so we will all continue to see her – especially at lobbying events and rallies of course!  And maybe if we ever get that fish costume back…. Laura – you’re the best!!!          Hungry for Change!

The time is here!  Let us welcome it gladly with courage and cheer!

Let us take to the streets with no doubt in our hearts!

But a jubilant shout!  They will come one and all.

They will come when we call!

Red and Black (Les Miserables)

Laura writing below – Tue 30 June @9:15am

“As I left home this morning I knew it wouldn’t be a day like any other but the day when I would have to hand in my keys to the CAFOD Portsmouth office after all those years. Being definitely an “emotional type”, I made sure I took my tissues with me. As it happens the first thing I saw this morning is this blog post from Lynda which of course meant I already had to get out my first tissue!!! It’s wasn’t even 9am!

Anyway the reason I am writing this “addendum” to the post is that I wanted to say my own personal THANK YOU to you all for making my time at CAFOD so special. Without you all, our precious volunteers, we wouldn’t even exist and it has been such a privilege to be able to work with you all these years and being able to link my faith and personal values with my work. Thank you for all that you do… and also for the many messages and lovely cards that I have received those last few weeks… I will of course keep following what happens in the Portsmouth diocese through the blog!

Most of all I wanted to say a HUGE thanks to Lynda who has been the most amazing manager and friend all those years. Looking at the pictures above I can’t believe all the “mad” things we have been doing… and certainly had a lot of fun too!!

As Lynda said I will continue to stay involved with CAFOD as a parish volunteer, so the fact that I know I will see you all again makes it lighter to go today… so…. arrivederci, see you soon and God bless you all 🙂 “

One thought on “Laura’s leaving…

Leave a Reply

