Fiona braves the elements to fundraise for CAFOD!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Huge congratulations to our supporter Fiona Lucas from Bournemouth, who braved the elements earlier this month to run the Cork marathon in aid of CAFOD and in memory of her late father.

She said: “I chose to run the Cork Marathon in honour of my amazing dad Michael Foley, who was born and grew up in Cork, Ireland. He sadly passed away a few years ago. I chose CAFOD because of the great work they do overseas and because it was my dad’s favourite charity. One Christmas I gave him a “donkey” through CAFOD’s World Gifts scheme instead of a “regular” gift. He was delighted. He was always happier to give then receive.”

“In the run-up to the marathon, I raised money via my Justgiving page, through friends and family, and also from a cake sale at work. I am a physiotherapist at Bournemouth Nuffield Hospital. It was fun to do and my colleagues were so supportive in providing cakes and decorations for the table.”

“The day of the race was 1st June 2015. It was far from flaming June in the Emerald Isle with pouring rain and high winds. I ran the whole race in a bin bag to keep my dry! This was captured in the Irish Examiner. Fame at last! It was hard race but I am proud to say I got my medal – soaked to the skin but very pleased with myself!”

Well done Fiona, we are very proud of you!

 

Leave a Reply

