Father Paul Takes on his Toughest Challenge Yet!

Father Paul Leonard from St Michael and All Angels in Havant is no stranger to pushing his body to the limit to raise money to help those living in poverty around the world. 

You’ll remember that he’s previously completed the Three Peaks Challenge and an endurance walk which saw him cover 100km in 24 hours. Now he’s taking on what is arguably his toughest challenge to date…Tough Mudder London South.

Tough Mudder is a 12 mile obstacle course, described by its organisers as “probably the toughest event on the planet”. It features obstacles called “the electric shock therapy” and “the boa constrictor” sprawled over hundreds of acres of farmland.

Here’s what Father Paul had to say about Tough Mudder and why he chose to do it to raise money for CAFOD…

“Please pray for me during my training and on the day itself. It’s going to be really hard going and looking at the website again (https://toughmudder.co.uk/) I’m just wondering what on earth I’m letting myself in for!

But then I always remember what’s always motivated me for any of the challenges I’ve done for CAFOD over the years – and that’ll keep me going when I’m freezing cold and face down in the mud in October! It’s very simple really. I just want to do something to help our brothers and sisters throughout the world who lack the basic necessities of life like clean, safe drinking water. When I’m up against it during my training and on that Sunday in October, I’ll be keeping in mind the millions who are walking this distance every day just to get to a water source for themselves, their families and their livestock.

CAFOD has a long history of supporting people in some of the poorest parts of the world, working in partnership with local communities and making a real difference to people’s lives. Whether this is by helping local villages grow crops or dig wells, their work is all about helping resourceful people stand on their own feet and make a living. I’m going to try to keep that in the forefront of my mind whilst I’m up to my ears in mud and doing my best to get round. Thank you for coming on my journey with me and thank you for supporting CAFOD.”

We’re really inspired by Father Paul setting himself another gruelling challenge to raise money and awareness for our work.

If you’d like to support Father Paul in his Tough Mudder challenge you can donate via his Just Giving Page at www.justgiving.com/Paul-Leonard11

Tough Mudder London South takes place on Sunday 26 October 2014 at Matterley Bowl Temple Valley, Alresford Road, Winchester, Hampshire SO21 1HW.

2 thoughts on “Father Paul Takes on his Toughest Challenge Yet!

  1. you did well Fr Paul I am very proud of you. you are a better runner then I am. I mean I would of fainted if I did that.

  2. oh yeah and I forgot to say you are the greatest priest I ever had. you are Funny, Amazing, cool, intelligent and also very proud of everything you do. I am very happy for you Fr Paul.
    Sophie Collins

Leave a Reply

