Fairtrade Fortnight: Find Your Fair Trade Feet Sock Competition Winners Announced

sockcomp1

It’s the launch of Fairtrade Fortnight 2014 and we are announcing the winners of our Find Your Fair Trade Feet sock competition.

Craig, Senior Designer at SockShop, Jo Joyner and CAFOD's Victoria Ahmed look through the competition entries

Craig, Senior Designer at SockShop, Jo Joyner and CAFOD’s Victoria Ahmed look through the competition entries

As many of you will know, we are a founding member of the Fairtrade Foundation. So, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the first Fairtrade products sold in the UK, we teamed up with SockShop to launch a special competition for 7-11 year olds to design an exclusive Fairtrade-themed sock.

The judging panel, which included award-winning actress Jo Joyner, formerly Tanya Branning on Eastenders, and a senior designer from SockShop, were overwhelmed with over 6000 entries and narrowed these down to 10 finalists. Three of these finalists are from the Portsmouth Diocese! The winning entries from the Portsmouth Diocese included designs by students from St Joseph’s Catholic Academy School in Aldershot, St Amand’s Catholic Primary School, Wantage and St Walburga’s, Bournemouth.

Jo Joyner said: “There was so much thought, time and creativity that had gone into the designs. Some of the slogans were worthy of a top ad agency! Most impressive was the fact that all the kids seemed to have grasped completely the concept of Fairtrade.”

Each runner-up receives a £25 Sockshop voucher and the overall winner, who will be announced next week, will have their sock design made!

You can see the pupils with their winning designs below.

The student from St Walburga's with his fair trade sock design

The student from St Walburga’s with his fair trade sock design

Here’s what he said when he found out: “When I heard about this news, I was amazed that out of 6000 people I was a runner- up and I would be on the CAFOD website and in the local newspaper. I designed the sock around the artist Paul Frank’s animated monkey and Fairtrade bananas. I was also thinking about people who don’t have anything and how we could help their lives. I would like to say thank you for picking me and I will never forget this moment.”

The student from St Joseph's with her fair trade sock design

The student from St Joseph’s with her fair trade sock design

The youngest of all the finalists, her colourful design also featured some wonderful words – “We want farmers to have a fair deal.” On hearing the news, she said: “I really enjoyed this project and I’m so surprised mine was chosen as one of the best socks!  I like creating things and it inspired me to do more.”

The student from St Amand's with her fair trade sock design

The student from St Amand’s with her fair trade sock design

Here’s what she had to say: “I thought it was epic hearing the news from my headteacher especially when I heard that I came in the top 10 out of 6000 children. I felt really proud of myself and of my school for entering the CAFOD competition because CAFOD is a great charity that helps people worldwide!”

We are so proud of the winning entries and everyone who made the effort to enter the competition!

To see the entries of all the 10 finalists click here.

Leave a Reply

