Chris’ big achievement!

Congratulations to our supporter Chris White from Bracknell, who completed the North Dorset marathon running for CAFOD on Sunday 1 May!!

He wrote to tell us how it all went…

“I am a keen supporter of CAFOD and felt that part of my commitment for Lent would be to try and raise some money to help CAFOD in their worthwhile programmes literally transforming lives.  Running has been part of my life now for two and a half years but I had never taken on a marathon before.  I thought this extra effort and the hope of helping others in some small way felt right.
 
I started upon a four month marathon training programme.  Everything had been going well until my longest training run of 22 miles on a hot day (about three weeks from the big day) where I got to 18 miles and kept having to stop.  I was concerned with all the hot weather leading up to the marathon and prayed for a cloudy day with a bit of a breeze. 

Thankfully my prayers were answered and the day had perfect conditions.  With friendly support along the way, not to mention the provision of jelly babies and wet sponges, I managed to keep going the whole way round.  My time was 3 hours 42 minutes 50 seconds.  I came 98th out of 302.  This was made even better by a free sports massage provided at the finish. 
 
I have raised £180 so far and my company have promised a further £50 so hopefully after Gift Aid it will be closer to £300!”

Well done Chris! We are so grateful to all the amazing supporters that are running/walking etc for CAFOD this year! Fantastic work!! 🙂

One thought on “Chris’ big achievement!

Leave a Reply

