Father Paul Aims High for CAFOD!

Fr Paul in Nigeria

Fr Paul Leonard, Assistant Priest at St Joseph & St Edmund parish in central Southampton (where he was ordained last summer), is pulling all the stops this summer to raise money for CAFOD and Jubilee Action! Over the August Bank Holiday weekend (27-29), he will be taking the Three Peaks Challenge – one of the most adventurous experiences available in the UK!

The challenge involves climbing the three highest peaks, respectively, in England, Wales and Scotland  in 24 hours! Those are:

•Ben Nevis, in Scotland (1344m)
•Scafell Pike, in England (978m)
•Snowdon, in Wales (1085m)

Fr Paul will be setting off early Friday morning to drive up and stay overnight in Fort William – then have a gentle day in Fort William before beginning the climb around tea-time on the Saturday. The aim will be to have got up and down Ben Nevis by dark, to travel to Scafell Pike in the night before climbing that and then on to Snowdon, hopefully finishing within 24 hours (Sunday tea-time) – it really does not sound like something for the faint-hearted!
When we asked him why he had decided to embark on such a challenge, Fr Paul said:

“Because I like a challange and this seems a suitably crazy one! 😉 I can envisage plenty of moments when I will ask myself what on earth I am doing, but I hope to be able to remember those who will benefit from my craziness – and I hope to raise a substantial amount of money for CAFOD and Jubilee Action by doing this!

As a Christian, I am called to have a concern and regard for those who are less fortunate than myself. Jesus had a preferential option for the poor….so do I! So, in undertaking this challenge, I specifically wanted to help those who suffer most, the poorest of the poor, those who are most marginalised – and CAFOD is right on the front line of such work. Any discomfort I may feel will pale into insignificance compared with the plight of so many who suffer so much. So, bring it on! I am currently engaged in a relentless exercise regime – I mean I spend some time each day on cycling…. but I know I will need to up my training to cope with the rigorous demands of the climbs!”

We are SO GRATEFUL to Fr Paul for his generosity and for choosing CAFOD as one of his charities!

To sponsor him you can either: visit his Just Giving page – just click here to access it (it’s quick, easy and safe to donate) or download a sponsorship form here to fill out with your pledge and send it back to CAFOD together with your cheque.

STOP PRESS!   We’ve just heard that Father Mark Hogan, from St Joseph’s parish in Basingstoke is ALSO taking part in the Three Peaks Challenge and also choosing CAFOD as one of his charities!!!  If you’d like to sponsor Father Mark, please download a sponsorship form here, fill out your pledge and send it back to CAFOD together with your cheque.

Thank you so much Father Paul and Father Mark for this incredible undertaking – we wish them all the best and we look forward to publishing photos of them on each peak with a big CAFOD flag 🙂 Please keep them in your prayers over the Bank Holiday weekend (and before then!)

Leave a Reply

